Belated Year in Review

Well, that was 2015.  With three cases of flu/pneumonia, I’m only getting up to speed again here in February. 2015 had some new writing achievements: I published several flash/short collections. I submitted for several publications, and I participated in an indie invitational collection. The collections haven’t sold all that much, but discussion seems to point to ten or twenty items for sale before it begins to snowball.  So for that I need to do a LOT more short fiction.

But on the counter side, I also purchased a revision class to help me revise the books I get lost on revising after the wild rush of writing for NaNoWriMo. I prefer write by the seat or my pants, or mostly so. If I do the outline, character studies, etc, writing is so boring and hard ti stay interested in. With a lot outlined, it feels like I’ve already written the story and I and my muse want to do something new. BUT, I think I need a little more of a flow chart than the nothing I had going in this year. I may try a one pager/flowchart more like some of my fanfic plans.  The ONLY year my NaNo failed was when I tried to outline. I really didn’t care how my lead would find the killer.  I need the revision class because I have two first drafts which I would be interested in buying the blurb, but I can see some flaws.  The class got totally derailed by the holidays and even more by everyone getting sick for weeks. But the class is a major time investment, and real life is taking more: health issues, another needed remodel, and puppy that needs more training.

Sadly, in trying to become a published author, my fanfic stories have take a far back seat, and that I regret. One I already have a first draft and a couple smaller ones are being written as serials that I don’t know where the story is going, and my muse is preoccupied with original. I don’t want to abandon the stories or fans I have, maybe had now. It’s not fair to leave them hanging, I know how often I got sad from orphan stories.

Also I wanted to do an omnibus of shorts I wrote each year and I’m a month late on that. I’m almost done. It’s formatted, I found cover art, and I’ve mixed up the order a little. All I have to do is finish the bonus story for the omnibus, but the last scene is being stubborn. After that I want to do an original story a week on top of the revision work.  I’m not sure how, but I want to finish my fanfics too.

I just need more time.

2 thoughts on “Belated Year in Review

  1. I’ve been browsing on-line greater than thrеe hours lately, buut I by no meanss found
    аny attention-grabbing artile like yours. It is beautifᥙl price enough for me.
    In my opinion, if all webmasters and bⅼоggerѕ madᥱ good content material
    as you рrobaably did, the net can be a lot more
    hᥱlpful tҺan ever before.

Leave a Reply

