An Agency that Needs to Expand

Writing has had to take a back seat of late due to another commitment, but ideas for problem areas have continued even in exile from my writing.  This exile has only been broken by a flashfic from an irritated muse.  I don’t know about other writers, but my muse is ONE WHO MUST BE OBEYED… or at least appeased.  My NaNo writing has been back-burnered because I know the draft has parts I like, but I can see it has intimidating problems.  Sadly professional editing is far beyond the budget and finding a good beta is risky and infrequent.  Come July I will take another stab at it along with the bootstrap classes of Holly Lisle.  


Heroes wanted

Enough with the writing side street, how can you deal with your heroes and characters and as archetypes in fiction?  Some have action, some have angst, some have lost loves that fly off in a plane, it’s not really the setting that makes their core values, what makes them a hero.  The hero who defends a remote space station from an alien attack is very different than a guardian of portals that separate the fey from the modern world.  They all have their lessons to learn from the events that get in their way in their stories.  I’ve played with different hero characters so far and choosing the right one can be tricky. I’m concerned that I don’t want to get too repetitive.  Sometimes I want a hero who isn’t already in my roster from earlier stories:  Noble knight, cynical bastard, hardened innocent, rebel, doomed lynchpin, commander, pragmatic survivor… they all have their places but there are other archetypes. A hero in my delayed tale isn’t any of those, he hasn’t quite gelled enough to have a voice and that is frustrating because he’s almost there. 

Maybe I’ll hang a ‘help wanted’ sign in the window of my agency of heroes… wonder who will apply?

Image courtesy photologue_np

Leave a Reply

